Book Cover ~ The Great Gatsby

December 30, 2012 § Leave a comment

the great gatsby

The Great Gatsby, F. Scott Fitzgerald, first published by Penguin Books in 1950

So far, all the book covers I have talked about are my own copies, scanned by me. I think you can tell with this one, given how battered it is at the corners. I studied The Great Gatsby in my penultimate year of high school and it was a bit of a revelation. Or perhaps my brilliant teacher made it one.

The style, filled with nostalgia and roaring twenties charm is beautifully captured by this picture. Or rather, this half-picture. One can guess what the other half is. And in a sense, it’s very fitting that the man should be forever separated from his lovely partner with short hair and fine eyebrows  since Daisy remains forever and always out of reach – right there, inches away, on the other side of the cover -other side of the world, other side of his world. And so my opinion is that this cover is both beautiful and very clever.

Tagged: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Book Cover ~ The Great Gatsby at moments of being.

meta

