Book Cover ~ Making Cocoa For Kingsley Amis

April 12, 2013 § Leave a comment

Making Cocoa for Kingsley Amis, Wendy Cope, Faber & Faber Limited, 1997

Making Cocoa for Kingsley Amis, Wendy Cope, Faber & Faber Limited, 1997

It’s been a while since I posted anything in the Book Cover category so it was about time I should ‘break the silence’. And what better way to do so than with a Faber & Faber.

Everyone knows these recognisable covers, always in the same font, size and contrasting colours. They feel nice, a bit like a thick, soft craft paper you would use for present wrapping and they are the right mix of rigid and supple. They are Faber & Faber.

I’ve always admired English publishers for their capacity to come up with new aesthetics for their covers: new series, new formats, inventive artwork for every single new book. But I have to say I like it that these poetry volumes have become a bit of a classic; they have their own character, like a signature. Closer to French publishers like Folio or Gallimard I suppose. Understated in their predictability so that only the content matters. But elegant enough that they are worthy of their content.

I particularly like this one for its vibrancy  And its title. If I’m completely honest, that’s why I bought it. It was one of those spontaneous buys. But I didn’t regret it. You only have to look at the first poem, ‘Engineers’ Corner’ to realise that Wendy Cope is a talented poet indeed.

And of course there is the last one entitled ‘Making Cocoa for Kingsley Amis’:

It was a dream I had last week

And some kind of record seemed vital.

I knew it wouldn’t be much of a poem

But I love the title.

Enough said.

Tagged: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Book Cover ~ Making Cocoa For Kingsley Amis at moments of being.

meta

